Fall Foliage Falling

Shumard Oak Almost Bare
Shumard Oak Almost Bare

For the past couple of days we’ve been socked in by fog. It was especially dense this morning. I wandered outside around nine and took a few photos of the wetness and all of the leaves that have suddenly fallen! This Shumard Oak has dropped a lot of its leaves just since Sunday. The thick fog quickly saturated the foliage and encouraged many of the leaves to fall today.

Bird Down Feather On Leaves
Bird Down Feather On Leaves

I discovered a number of bird down feathers clinging to leaves. The foggy dew-drops are very noticeable on the one above.

Bird Feather Down On Leaves
Bird Down Feather On Leaves

Above is another picture of bird down on some leaves. There’s also some wild clover as well as some weeds sprouting!

Fallen Leaf On Ornamental Grass
Fallen Leaf On Ornamental Grass

Here’s a lonely leaf atop some dead ornamental grass. I’m not certain what type of grass this is but I do know it’s an annual. It made a huge quantity of seeds so I’m hoping that I’ll end up with some sprouts in the spring!

Leaves On Lamb's Ear
Leaves On Lamb’s Ear

Lamb’s Ears are one of my all-time favorite plants. This one came loose from a cluster when I was cleaning the flower beds late in the summer. I stuck it in a hole elsewhere in the yard and waited to see if it would grow. It did!

Fallen Leaf On Red Tip Photinia
Fallen Leaf On Red Tip Photinia

Here is a fallen oak leaf resting on a Red Tip Photinia, which is making berries. The Photinia is not native to Texas, but the plants do grow quickly. Birds and other wildlife feed on the berries.

Leaves Surrounding Pink Evening Primrose Foliage
Leaves Surrounding Pink Evening Primrose Foliage

The foliage of these Pink Evening Primrose plants will probably remain green throughout the winter. This plant is a Texas native. It makes beautiful, pink cup-shaped flowers which open in the evening and close early in the morning.

Web On Sage
Web On Sage

I discovered the above web conglomeration on a Sage plant. I doubt that I would have noticed it were it not for the droplets of fog that settled on it. I presume it’s some sort of spider web but no spider was visible.

Leaves On Stone
Leaves On Stone

It would seem that leaves are falling all over the state of Texas! I never did find a permanent place for this stone during the summer. Ah, well. Another summer will come around soon enough.

8 thoughts on “Fall Foliage Falling

    • So many times the camera captures what the eye doesn’t see. When I look at photographs after the fact I often notice things that didn’t catch my eye when the photo was actually taken. For example, I’ve taken pictures of flowers and then when looking at them later I’ve discovered insects on the petals or something in the background that is even more interesting than what I was actually photographing. I appreciate your compliment on the photos. While I’m no expert, I do enjoy photography, and often surprise myself with the end product. I get excited about the simplest things in nature, the things we don’t really look for and aren’t expecting.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Excellent photographs. I read that there has been a lot of rain in Texas the last few days. Is it enough to make a positive difference for reservoirs and aquifers? Are you getting much flooding?

    Like

    • Thank you! We’ve received barely a trace of rain so far this month, though it’s been extremely foggy and overcast. Some of the areas near the coast have probably received some good rains. Whatever little has fallen in the drought-stricken areas hasn’t accounted for much. We need an extended period of very heavy rain in order to make a dent in the drought. There’s been no flooding. Unfortunately, when the time comes that we do receive the heavy rains we need there will undoubtedly be flooding because the ground is so hard. Our last really good rain came back in November. We received about three inches in areas and had some good runoff, but our area lakes only rose about 1.5%.

      Like

  2. Thanks for liking my post, your blog is very interesting. I live in the NW UK where weather conditions are so different to yours. It rains a lot here, although our water companies are so inept at holding onto the stuff that on the odd occasions we have a dry summer of a few weeks we are usually put into drought measures, ridiculous! Your variety of plants in your garden under the circumstances is great and love your bird pictures. Keep up the good work.

    Catherine

    Like

    • How funny yet so sad at the same time! We’ve really learned to conserve water due to our drought. Our motto is “Every Drop Counts”, and boy does it count! Just seeing a cloud in the distance has everyone thinking of rain. I’m glad you enjoy the bird pictures. I think I’m addicted to birds! They’re so beautiful and so much fun to watch. Thank you so much for visiting.

      Like

Please leave a comment. You'll make my day!

