Asiatic Lilies

Asiatic Lily
Asiatic Lily (Lilium asiatic)

For several years I’ve been picking up bags of Asiatic Lilies when they start appearing at the local stores. I have no idea what types of cultivars they are. They usually just come in somewhat generic bags of 10 to 12 bulbs. They tend to do well here until the really hot weather arrives, then they die back and become dormant. Sometimes, as happened this year, green shoots will appear in the late fall or early winter. They quickly die back again at the first freeze. I usually buy a couple of bags a year and stick the bulbs in bare areas to build up some color.

Asiatic Lily
Asiatic Lily (Lilium asiatic)

Apparently the bulbs of Asiatic Lilies need to be divided every few years. The plants have been returning beautifully each year even though I haven’t been doing any dividing. I guess I’ll have to put this at the top of my list of gardening resolutions for next Fall!

Asiatic Lily
Asiatic Lily (Lilium asiatic)

I recently read an article which detailed how to cross-pollinate and hybridize Asiatic Lilies. I might give that a try next summer.

Asiatic Lily
Asiatic Lily (Lilium asiatic)

I wish these blooms would last throughout the summer. They’re so pretty and come in so many different colors that they add a sparkle to the garden.

Asiatic Lily
Asiatic Lily (Lilium asiatic)
4 thoughts on “Asiatic Lilies

  1. I have a bunch of Asiatic lilies and I have never divided them. I got mine as a “naturalizing mix” from White Flower Farm. You were probably smarter to pick them up at the store. I love Asiatic lilies, such intense color – I just wish that were fragrant.

    Like

    • Yes, the store bags are much less expensive! Especially the first go round when you’re not certain exactly what you’re getting and what the plants will do in your area. Once I found that the store mixes did well and continued to come back each year, I just continued to buy them in this fashion. It’s a relatively inexpensive way to add some color to an area for at least part of the year.

      Like

  2. I’ve tried Asiatic lilies and had little success with them in my Central Texas garden. I think they like more water than I care to provide and a bit more mild temperatures. Yours are beautiful, though! Daylilies have been much less hassle free for me and do well in my dryer, hotter garden.

    Like

    • Thank you! I think I worry more that the lily bulbs will fry during the summer than about watering them. None of the plants in our garden have received anything other than natural rainfall (what there is of it!), collected rainwater and grey water (from the washing machine, etc.) for the past two years. If we run out of any of that, good luck to them! I think it helps that the Asiatic Lilies get at least some degree of shade during the day. But they do quickly disappear once the triple digits make an appearance.

      Like

Please leave a comment. You'll make my day!

