Garden Resolutions Revisited: Seeds For Spring

Pomegranate Seeds
Pomegranate Seeds

Over the past weekend I revisited my list of winter and spring garden resolutions that I posted earlier this month. One of those resolutions was to order some miscellaneous types of seeds to try out this spring. I’ve been diligently working on that over the past several weeks by searching through catalogs, visiting online stores and checking out some gardening websites. Information on one of those websites led me to decide to try growing pomegranate plants from seeds. Incredibly, there seem to be hundreds of sites out there that offer a myriad of ways to do this. Unfortunately, I’m not very patient when it comes to growing seeds. So needless to say, I plan to just do it my own way and see happens! To that end, I picked up a pomegranate for 48¢ at the local ALDI grocery store and cut into it! Thus far I’ve 1) folded seeds into moistened coffee filters and stuck them in baggies, 2) planted portions of the fruit, seeds and all, in several pots, and 3) set aside a large number of seeds to dry so they can be planted directly into the ground in the spring. I figure if I can’t get something to grow through one of these methods then I’m just out of luck!

I’ve also ordered a number of different flower seeds, some of which I’ve planted before and some that I decided just to try out to see if they’ll grow. So far I have the following:

  • Roman Chamomile (Anthemis nobilis)
  • Mammoth Sunflower (Helianthus annuus Mammoth)
  • Autumn Beauty Sunflower (Helianthus annuus Autumn Beauty)
  • Chicory (Cichorium intybus)
  • Mexican Sunflower Red Torch (Tithonia speciosa Red Torch)
  • Coreopsis Mahogany Midget (Coreopsis tinctoria Mahogany Midget)
  • Blue Lovegrass (Eragrostis elliottii)
  • Mexican Butterfly Weed (Asclepias curassavica)
  • Rocket Larkspur (Delphinium consolida Rocket)
  • Indian Blanket (Gaillardia pulchella)
  • Black-Eyed Susan (Rudbeckia hirta)
  • Texas Native Wildflower Seed Mixture
  • Bennings Green Tint Scallop Squash (Cucurbita pepo)

The next step will be to decide where to plant these as well as any others I might order. I especially want the sunflowers for along the fences on both sides of the back yard. The Texas native mixture will probably go into the front yard as one of my other resolutions is to convert more of that area to native plants and eliminate more grass (not that there’s much left!). I’m not sure about the squash seeds. They were a free gift with an order. I don’t have much of a green thumb when it comes to growing vegetables, but we’ll see what happens!

Pomegranate Seeds With Flesh Removed
Pomegranate Seeds With Flesh Removed
9 thoughts on “Garden Resolutions Revisited: Seeds For Spring

    • If you’re in 8b I’d assume you’d have no problem at all! Here in Zone 7b of Texas things get pretty dry during the summer. I’m hoping I can get some seeds to sprout. I know several folks who have had what they call promegranate bushes here, but I’m not sure they’re talking about the same thing. I’ve read that they’re drought tolerant and can stand some shade, so I should be able to find a spot where at least one will grow! I hope so. I’m also planning to try growing an avocado, but I think that will have to remain in a pot and be brought indoors during the winter. Thanks for following my blog. I appreciate it! I found yours and am following also. Good gardening luck!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ d never thought of trying pomegranates from seed I will be interested to see the results of your experiment. They can only be pot plants here but I love the red blossom.

    Like

    • They may indeed have to be a potted plant here, too. The info I’ve read indicates that they can be damaged if temperatures fall below 12°F. We do get temperatures that low on occasion. But other tender plants can survive if they’re well mulched and covered with a blanket or some other form of insulation when the temperatures drop drastically. (The extent we gardeners go to!) There is a house around the corner from us where a banana tree has been growing for at least 20 years. It’s cut back in the fall and mulched and re-emerges every year. But I’ll also be interested to see if I can get anywhere with the pomegranate seeds!

      Like

  2. That looks to be a good selection. I’ll be growing sunflowers Autumn Beauty and Tall Singles and chicory again next year so it’ll be interesting to see how we both get on with them. xx

    Like

Please leave a comment. You'll make my day!

