On The Wings Of A Dove

Eurasian Collared-Dove (Streptopelia decaocto)
Eurasian Collared-Dove (Streptopelia decaocto)

Our winter weather has come and gone for this week and hopefully for the rest of the season. Before the snow and ice melted I managed to snap a photo of this pretty, almost entirely white Eurasian Collared-Dove. She (she has to be a she because of her looks!) has become a daily visitor to our garden. Doesn’t she blend in well with the twigs, leaves and remnants of the snow? She also really stands out when she descends into the yard with a large group of her friends and relatives!

Every time I see this bird I’m reminded of the great country song “Wings of a Dove”, written by Bob Ferguson and originally recorded by Ferlin Husky. If you don’t remember that version, you might remember one by Dolly Parton, Bonnie Guitar, Loretta Lynn or Ricky Skaggs. Or you may possibly have heard it being sung by Robert Duvall in the movie Tender Mercies. Here’s the refain (courtesy of OldieLyrics.com):

On the wings of a snow-white dove
He sends His pure sweet love
A sign from above (sign from above)
On the wings of a dove (wings of a dove)

Perhaps this beautiful dove is a sign that winter is finally coming to an end. I think I’ll remain optimistic and take it as such!

When I’m outside planting seeds, pulling weeds and pruning trees I usually have the radio on to accompany me. Many times the dial is set to a country station. It just depends on my mood. Quite often I don’t listen to the lyrics. At other times a golden oldie will have me vibrating and dancing among the wildflowers. Thankfully when that happens I’m usually in the back yard behind a six foot fence! And I think the plants themselves enjoy a good rousing rendition of an old rock classic every once in a while. Gardening to music also allows for meditation when the need arises. The soft background of some mood music while digging in the dirt can transform any bad day into a serene one.

Anyway, enough rambling. Winter is on the way out and spring is just around the corner. As for me, tomorrow afternoon I’ll be outside in the glorious sunshine, potting perennial seeds and planting several shrubs I picked up the other day. Maybe doing a little jig to Robert Plant or Guns and Roses

13 thoughts on “On The Wings Of A Dove

  1. Lovely post, I don’t think you’re alone in wishing winter away. I had my hardest freeze to date last night/this morning. I don’t think I lost anything permanently, but some of the newly sprouts herbaceous perennials were nipped. Drat!! Just as spring is beginning, they get nipped. On the upside, the iris stalks with developing blooms are fine and the Golden Groundsel and Mountain Laurel weathered it well.

    Enjoy your gardening and your radio. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks. I’m always surprised at plants that make it through late hard freezes when I don’t expect them to. We got down to 16 on Thursday morning. I think it was a record. The day lilies that were just peeking out of the ground made it through okay, as did the Easter lily and some others. Maybe the coating of snow helped them out. The buds on the lilacs are fine, but those on several other shrubs got nipped. Lucky you with developing iris already. It’ll be a while here! It’s odd really to even talk about freezes of one and two days ago, it’s already 47 here at 10:30 AM. I’m raring to go!

      Like

  2. Wow if anybody would have bet me I could find a garden post with a Ferlin Husky reference I doubt I’d have taken them up on it. Well done!

    Beautiful photo and great reminder that the flowers ought not be the only ones dancing in the garden (at least behind the fences)!

    Like

Please leave a comment. You'll make my day!

