My Garden This Week

March 14, 2015

According to the calendar Spring is still a week away. The weather and the plants in my garden seem to think differently!

The Pink Flowering Almond bushes (Prunus glandulosa) are budding profusely. These shrubs, which reach a height and width of four to five feet, are not a Texas native. They’re actually native to China and Japan. But they are so drought tolerant that they’re a perfect fit for this part of the state. The specimens in my garden have made it through the last four years on very little rain along with searing hot temperatures.

Pink Flowering Almond Bush (Prunus glandulosa)
Pink Flowering Almond Bush (Prunus glandulosa)

Prunus glandulosa will thrive in sun to partial shade and in just about any type of soil. These shrubs begin blooming in mid-March and continue to do so for about two or three weeks. They spread by suckers, with new plants coming up within a foot or so of the main plant, and are very easy to transplant. The blooms also look great in vases with other flowers.

Pink Flowering Almond Bush (Prunus glandulosa)
Pink Flowering Almond Bush (Prunus glandulosa)

This Artemisia ‘Powis Castle’ has been part of my garden for three years. It’s looking a bit raggedy right now due to the snow and ice we had for several weeks. I’ve been considering cutting it back and allowing it to grow back out, but I think I’ll wait a couple of weeks to see how it recovers.

Artemisia 'Powis Castle'
Artemisia ‘Powis Castle’

Below are a couple Daffodils (Narcissus) of different colors. The hard freezes we had a few weeks ago didn’t seem to faze these beautiful flowers. They appear to be quite hardy!

A variety of green foliage is currently present in the garden. While these plants are not yet flowering they’re still a welcome sight.

Here’s a close-up of some green moss that covered the ground in a shady corner following our recent precipitation.

Green Ground Moss
Green Ground Moss

And here’s some type of lichen that was found growing on a stone.

Lichen
Lichen

I wasn’t sure I’d be seeing the Cedar Waxwings (Bombycilla cedrorum) again this season as they hadn’t put in an appearance in a while (that I know of!). A small flock appeared out of nowhere toward sunset this evening. There were probably about fifteen roosting atop a tree in the front yard. They’re such pretty birds. I’ll miss them when they do head north again.

Cedar Waxwings (Bombycilla cedrorum)
Cedar Waxwings (Bombycilla cedrorum)

Things are slowly beginning to take shape in my garden. A few plants hung around all Winter, some have emerged in the past several weeks and I know that below the surface of the soil even more are making their way upwards toward warm weather and sunshine. There’s no time like Spring!

“That is one good thing about this world…there are always sure to be more springs.”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Avonlea —

 

18 thoughts on “My Garden This Week

  1. The calendar and the plants do seem to be a few weeks apart in their declarations, don’t they? The rains we got earlier were so welcome but things are drying out again (already!) so I am hoping for more. All those flowers-to-be could use a boost before trusting their beauty to the world at large. Happy Spring!

    Like

  2. Our gardens are awakening, yes! It looks promising for your spring blooms. The daffodils are showstoppers–I’m sure they’re very welcome to you. Love your photos, especially of the lichen–just beautiful. The Cedar Waxwings are still here, though I only hear them and see them high in trees. I guess they’ll be off soon. I’ll miss them.

    Like

  3. Your A. Powys Castle look in much better shape than mine, I’ve taken cuttings (very easy) and will probably discard the parent plant, I will cut it right back first just to see if it will make the effort to look good.

    Like

    • Growing cuttings from these plants is very easy. Last summer I checked various websites for info on how to grow cuttings — they all made it seem so complicated with a certain routine you had to follow. I finally just snipped the cuttings I wanted and stuck them in jars of water (I’m not very patient!). They rooted in no time. I planted about half a dozen in the fall (they’re still alive!) and have four more in a pot ready to set out. The large plants do get straggly. I haven’t decided which way to go with mine yet. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a comment. You'll make my day!

