Falcate Orangetip Butterfly (Anthocharis midea)

Falcate Orangetip (Anthocharis midea)
Falcate Orangetip (Anthocharis midea)

Sighted April 3, 2015

Falcate Orangetip (Anthocharis midea)
Falcate Orangetip (Anthocharis midea)

This butterfly flitted through the backyard as I watched from the picture window in our living room. All I saw initially were tumbling flashes of white. Naturally I grabbed my camera and headed outside to see where it would land with the hope of getting a few pictures.

Falcate Orangetip (Anthocharis midea)
Falcate Orangetip (Anthocharis midea)

I got quite a few photos from about six feet away but they didn’t turn out very well. The butterfly kept flitting around. Finally I was able to slowly creep up on it and got some better close-ups. Still, they had to be enlarged in order to show the detail of this beautiful creature!

Falcate Orangetip (Anthocharis midea) Facts:

  • They have a wingspan of about 1.75 inches at the most.
  • The underside of the hindwing has a fine marbled pattern.
  • One flight takes place from March through June.
  • Only the male of the species has an orange wingtip.
  • Both male and female have a round black spot on the forewing.
  • The Falcate Orangetip belongs to the family Pieridae which includes the white and sulphur butterflies.
  • Their range typically includes the eastern United States, from lower New England through parts of Texas and Oklahoma.
  • Adults feed on nectar-producing flowers.
18 thoughts on “Falcate Orangetip Butterfly (Anthocharis midea)

  1. I smiled when I read “Naturally I grabbed my camera and headed outside”… Because, naturally! Great shots of a really striking butterfly – one I’ve never seen before but I’ll be on the lookout for these beauties. Those sulphur/white butterflies are really hard to capture – they never stay still for long. I typically only get shots with wings closed. Kudos!

    Like

  2. Lovely pictures. We get a different Orange-tip here in the UK (Anthocharis cardamines) which looks very similar apart from an all-black body. I do see them occasionally but not, as yet, on the plot. xx

    Like

  3. Beautiful, I am looking forward to seeing my first Orange Tip any day now. Meanwhile today was very sunny and mild and I saw my first Brimstone and Peacock.

    Like

Please leave a comment. You'll make my day!

