My Garden This Week

June 14, 2015

Having not posted a view of my garden since the end of March, I decided this would be a good time to do so! The rains of May are finally gone, but I think June is feeling a bit ignored and has decided to do something about it, dropping 3.16 inches of rain on us yesterday and a little bit more during the night. (One of my favorite things in the world is to wake up during the wee morning hours to the sound of thunder and the flash of lightening!) Needless to say, the garden was a little on the soggy side today. The  Sombrero® Salsa Red Coneflowers (Echinacea purpurea), Plains Coreopsis (Coreopsis tinctoria) and  Spearmint (Mentha spicata) didn’t seem to mind, though.

Garden June 14, 2015

These Mexican Hat Flowers (Ratibida columnifera) are falling over everything even though they’ve been staked with some small wire fencing.

Garden June 14, 2015

They’re really quite prolific this year.

Garden June 14, 2015

There’s supposed to be a walking path through here somewhere…

Garden June 14, 2015

Here are some Liatris and some Iris. Some of the Iris leaves look quite puny. They were waterlogged for a while, then the sun began drying them out as the temperatures rose. I think they’ve had a shock to their systems. They don’t mind the hot weather, but the rain really beat them down.

Garden June 14, 2015

Here we have a Turk’s Cap (Malvaviscus arboreus) and Artemisia ‘Powis Castle’.

Garden June 14, 2015

Here are the Turk’s Cap and Artemisia viewed from the other side, along with a Chinese Privet (Aligustre chino).

Garden June 14, 2015

The Autumn Joy Sedum (Sedum spectabile ‘Autumn Joy’) are beginning to spread. They’ll begin blooming later in the summer. These plants are very easy to grow in our hot, dry climate and their flowers are very attractive to butterflies.

Garden June 14, 2015

There’s a jumble of different types of plants in the photo below. I really need to do some work with the mulch in this area.

Garden June 14, 2015

Here’s a wider view of that area from a different angle.

Garden June 14, 2015

These Rocket Larkspur (Delphinium consolida Rocket) have had a really tough time this spring. They were constantly pummeled by the rain during their prime blooming time and many have already begun to turn brown and go to seed. I need to figure out what the tall plants in the foreground are…

Garden June 14, 2015

Here are a few more Rocket Larkspur and some pitiful looking Daylilies (Hemerocallis) that were virtually drowning in sitting water for several days last month.

Garden June 14, 2015

Our neighbor’s Trumpet Vine (Campsis radicans) has fully engulfed the utility pole in the corner of their yard.

Trumpet Vine (Campsis radicans)

The flowers are pretty and attract hummingbirds and a variety of butterflies and other pollinators. Unfortunately, that’s about all there is to like about this plant! They’re terribly invasive. I’ll be pulling their shoots up from the back yard and cutting them out of the fence for the rest of the summer…

Trumpet Vine (Campsis radicans)

On the brighter side of things, here’s a Damselfly hanging out in the garden!

Damselfly

Hopefully I’ll be able to get out and actually do some work in the garden this week. Things are really beginning to get wild! I also have a few plants that I purchased last week that I need to find spots for and get into the ground. I hope everyone else had a great week in their gardens!

14 thoughts on “My Garden This Week

  1. Things are looking lovely – what a wide range of blooms! You got a healthy second helping of rain for June so far – we got less, but enough nobody ought to be running sprinkler systems here anytime soon (not that that stops some people…).

    I was able to get out and do some pruning – everything is so leggy this year in Texas! Falling over here, leaning over there, nothing seems to want to grow UP right where it is planted. Here’s hoping the storms predicted for the week to come take it easy on us. We all, gardens and gardeners alike, could use a break.

    Like

    • Yes, the rain has been good! I haven’t seen any water running down the curb — a sure sign of people using their sprinkler systems — so I guess the watering is being kept in check for now. We only rolled back to Stage 2 as far as being able to use water “indiscriminately” so I guess folks are still being water-wise. I’m sure as soon as the restrictions are fully lifted, perhaps today, people will begin using their sprinklers. Hopefully we’ve all learned something from the drought, though the way some people have been complaining about still having to restrict their use, I’m wondering. We have rain in the forecast for the rest of the week, something coming from the west and that tropical system in the gulf has everything to do with it.

      Like

  2. Everything looks so good–full and lush! I guess your June rainfall helped everything along nicely, It would be interesting to see your garden from a year ago–still in the throws of your awful drought–and compare to today.

    Those red coneflowers! Wow!

    Like

  3. I had to laugh at your ‘disappearing path’. I’ve just been out for a walk around my garden and could see the same effect. I also liked the ‘weeds’ sign in your border – could do with one of those! A lovely post – all those warm reds/oranges/etc. For me the highlight was the damsel fly – you take such good bug pictures!

    Like

  4. Love the Mexican Hat Flowers! I’ve been planning a path for one of my small garden “rooms” and I like the way you have your stones arranged. A disappearing path is perfect for a cottage garden. Great shot of the damselfly!

    Like

Please leave a comment. You'll make my day!

