Little Japanese Umbrellas Springing Up All Over!

Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)
Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)

When I went outside to fetch the newspaper this morning I was greeted with the sight above — Pleated Inkcap Mushrooms galore — in a mulched corner that’s slowly being converted into a flowerbed. Depending on the source, the botanical name for these mushrooms is either Parasola plicatilis or Coprinus plicatilis.

Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)
Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)

Other common names for these small mushrooms, which can quickly appear overnight following rain, include Pleated Inky Cap, Japanese Parasol and Japanese Umbrella.

Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)
Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)

The almost ground level photo above highlights the narrow stalks of the many, many hundreds of mushrooms that popped up overnight.

Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)
Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)

I originally discovered these mushrooms at about 6:30 AM and took these photos around 8:30 AM. About an hour and a half later I headed back outside with my camera to get a few more pictures. The mushrooms were gone!

Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)
Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)

According to Project Noah “…this is a short-lived mushroom that appears after rainfall. It matures, spreads its spores and decays all within 24 hours…” So I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that they disappeared so quickly!

Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)
Pleated Inkcap (Parasola plicatilis)

I guess I’ll need to head outside early tomorrow morning if I want to catch another glimpse of these little mushrooms!

19 thoughts on “Little Japanese Umbrellas Springing Up All Over!

  1. What a great post and the photos are fabulous! Your shots look like a Thai restaurant I enjoy–only in reverse. (Their umbrellas hang from the ceiling.)

    Like

Please leave a comment. You'll make my day!

